Skip To Content

Rockwall County

Rockwall County is the smallest county in Texas, covering only 147 square miles. In the early 1800s, the area was occupied by Caddo Indians. In the early 1850s, farmers were digging a well and discovered a rock wall that crossed the county and at some places appeared above ground level. Scientists have determined that this is a natural formation, but folk tales continue to say that it was built by prehistoric natives. When the town of Rockwall was formed, it was named for the rock formation. The last half of the 20th century has brought about major changes in this once predominately agricultural area. Bounded on the west by Lake Ray Hubbard, it has become a very desirable residential area for the continuously growing Dallas Metropolitan area. Rockwall County includes 7 cities and 2 school districts.


  • Heath
  • Fate
  • McClendon-Chisholm
  • Mobile City
  • Rockwall
  • Rowlett
  • Royce City